Daily Archives: May 27, 2013

Altitude sickness, rough few days cycling

On arrival for rest day in Sante Fe I developed mild altitude sickness, although only at 7,250 feet we all had some symptoms, except Catherine whom seems indestructible. A number of factors occured, relativley fast rate of ascent, pedalling 80+ miles a day for the last two weeks, going anerobic on some climbs, mild dehydraton and the heat. Had a constant unrelenting headache, fatigue, mild shortness of breath, tachycardia and peripheral oedema of my legs but worse in the left leg. The limb oedema unfortunately devolped some mild celluitis. So I have taken diuretics (now pee’d gallons) and antibiotics and with leg elevation I am on the mend. Will probably take one more rest day tommorow and ride again to cross the Texas State line. Cycling Transamerica is undoubtably the toughest thing I have ever done. Despite loosing 170 lbs I guess all those years of being obese are hard to catch up with. Thanks to Shermann Bull MD for helping sort me out, he’s riding with us, he is an amazing man. Catherine is an Amazon and is ploughing through all the hills, she’s incredible.

