Cycle navigation across TransAmerica

20130604-115233.jpg

Navigation has been remarkably easy across USA. Have used a Garmin 800, really just to measure distance. I did download the USA Garmin base maps but have not really needed them. We have a daily cue sheet provided by Crossroads. We get a route rap the night before the ride and add our own notes (mine pink). You just follow the cue sheet and keep an eye on distance. the cue sheet indicates roads, hazards and turns (and significant hills/descents). I have not really got lost. Thought I would need a map but you do not really need one. have not used any satnav on my phone either. Still however use my iPhone as a camera/ Wifi browser. I also have a local pay as you go phone for emergencies, but have not used that either!

My average speed is what really matters, I’ve always been pretty good on the flat, yesterday was flat and was cruising about 18 to 22 mph, on occasion up to 30mph on a slight downhill. my max speed for the trip so far has been 42mph. But on the hills, I’m still slow and will be in the granny gear on the triple and crawl along on the long hills at 6-8mph.

Weight is everything with cycling, have got rid of my ortlieb waterproof underseat bag and gone for a very small cycle bag, just for a tyre lever, multitool, two tubes, tweezers and gas cylinders. Small sunscreen and lip balm in cycle jersey with wallet and iPhone in a waterproof case. I like riding with a Camelbac (70oz) and fill up with Gatorade later in the day. SAG – Support and Gear stops are about every 30 miles, with food snacks and gels. I still hate gels, you have to think of it as medicine!

2 thoughts on “Cycle navigation across TransAmerica

  1. Martin Sproul

    I’m impressed at the average speeds, day after day. I’d struggle to produce that for just one day knowing I was resting up the day after. However, it’s the consecutive days that I would find exhausting; mentally and physically.
    Well done!

Comments are closed.